Skip to main content
Tree

 

Directions from MARTINEZ

From 680 South

  • Take Treat Blvd exit, EXIT 48, toward Treat Blvd/Geary Rd.
  • Turn right onto N Main St.
  • Turn left on Pleasant Valley Dr.
  • Take the 2nd right onto Oak Park Blvd.
  • Turn right onto Santa Barbara Road

 

Directions from WALNUT CREEK

From 680 North

  • Take Treat Blvd exit, EXIT 48, toward Geary Road.
  • Keep left at the fork in the ramp.
  • Ramp become Buskirk Ave.
  • Turn left to stay on Buskirk Ave.
  • Turn left onto Oak Park Blvd.
  • Turn right onto Santa Barbara Road

 

Parking

We recommend visitors park at spots along Monticello Avenue (in front of school; see flag pole as reference). Visitors may also use the parking lot along Hawthorne Dr. Please be aware of reserved parking spots.

Parking areas on the site campus may sometimes be full and/or designated for authorized use only.

 

Travel by BART

Pleasant Hill BART Station is located 1.5 miles east of site campus (along Oak Park Blvd and crossing over I-680). Getting to BART from school takes about 10 minutes by bicycle and 30 minutes by walking. 

Home Study Staff Directory

 

Home Study (TK-8)

Horizons Home Study's educational team consists of one administrator, credentialed teacher-advisors, and office support serving our families. This team of instructional leaders, in addition to its special focus on elementary and middle school grades, has expertise in working with alternative education at all grade levels, TK-8.

OFFICE STAFF

Principal - Melissa Brennan

Office Manager - Carlene Hunt

Community Service Assistant - Carolyn Goetz

Counselor - Rebecca Woo

 

TEACHERS (Module 1)

Module 1 Teacher Advisor: Kristin Dietrick ext. 3969  

Module 1 Teacher Advisor: Nancy Coffee ext. 3954 

Module 1 Teacher Advisor: Michelle Eberhart

 

VIRTUAL ACADEMY STAFF (Module 2 and Middle School)

Virtual Grade TK/K: Dianna Delamain delamaind@mdusd.org

Virtual Grade K: Shanna Pilon pilons@mdusd.org

Virtual Grade 1: Teresa Haun haunt@mdusd.org

Virtual Grade 1: Cora Standefer standeferc@mdusd.org

Virtual Grade 2: Lee Chakalozian chakalozianl@mdusd.org

Virtual Grade 2: Laurie Semple semplel@mdusd.org

Virtual Grade 2: Marissa Thompson thompsonm@mdusd.org

Virtual Grade 3: Eric Clifton cliftone@mdusd.org

Virtual Grade 3: Samantha Liebe liebes@mdusd.org

Virtual Grade 4: Tanette Maffei maddeit@mdusd.org

Virtual Grade 4: Jamie Whaley whaleyjr@mdusd.org

Virtual Grade 5: Karen Duggan duggank@mdusd.org

Virtual Grade 5: Debbie Rosa rosad@mdusd.org

Virtual SDC: Lisa Ryan ryanlisa@mdusd.org

Virtual SDC: Michele Sharvit sharvitm@mdusd.org

Virtual Middle School Grade 6: Sol Henik heniks@mdusd.org (click here for Office Hours)

Virtual Middle School Grade 6: Holly Petrik petrikh@mdusd.org (click here for Office Hours)

Virtual Middle School Grade 7: Julian Fiammengo fiammengoj@mdusd.org (click here for Office Hours)

Virtual Middle School Grade 8: Clifton Wedington wedingtonc@mdusd.org

 

Horizons Schools: Home Study (TK-8) and Center for Independent Study (9-12)

One Santa Barbara Road

Pleasant Hill, CA 94523

925-682-8000  x3960 Main Office

(925) 937-6052 fax

Our school is located on the Pleasant Hill Education Center Site which includes several schools and departments. Our main office is located in the same building space as the Pleasant Hill Middle School main office. 

*      *      *      *      *

Examples of Who to Contact

 

Contact your teacher about:

  • Class assignments, expectations, due dates, etc.
  • Ideas, strategies, and methods to encourage that support student learning and social/emotional well-being
  • Scheduling an appointment with teacher during teacher office hours

Contact office staff about:

  • School registration, dual enrollments, and school transfers
  • Attendance and report cards
  • Student/parent contact information changes (phone, email, address, etc.)